Netflix recommendations: docs

I have been loving documentaries lately. That, along with standup-comedy, is the main reason I love having Netflix. Before I even had Netflix I’d already seen the documentary Jesus Camp, which I’m sure I’ve talked about on here. In the past feew weeks or months I’ve watched some more documentaries on Netflix that I feel are worth talking about and recommending to you guys.

Matt Shepard is a friend of mine – A 1,5-hour long documentary about the story of Matt Shepard, a young gay man who was brutally attacked to death back in 1998. This documentary talks about his personal story, but also (and maybe more importantly) reminds us to keep the discussion on the LGBT+ community’s position in society open. Clearly acts of hate towards people who are different have unfortunately not disappeared, and this is a good reminder of just that. It also gives you a view inside the grief that the people in Matt’s life still feel to this day.

Cowspiracy – I feel like this  doesn’t even need a big explanation since pretty much everyone who has Netflix or is interested in global warming and/or agriculture has probably already watched this one. But just briefly, this is a documentary about the extreme harm that agriculture does to our earth, and what an enourmous effect it has on global warming. It focuses a lot on how this issue is extremely well hidden behind big corporations; no one really likes to acknowledge the issue. It’s definitely a very interesting look at the corrupt circumstances surrounding this issue. Earns a few extra points from me because the numbers are displayed in different graphs and images so you don’t just hear loads of numbers, but can actually picture them and see them.

Aileen: Life and Death of a Serial Killer – This one is a lot like those normal documentaries about killers, which there are a lot of. There are however a few things that stand out to me. Number one is the fact that this is about the first female serial killer in the USA. She is also very much involved in this documentary, which makes it a lot more interesting than just a regular documentary where other people are solely telling the murderer’s story. This documentary even gives you a look at some things that I didn’t even think would be allowed to be filmed. Such things are most of the trials in court, interviews with Aileen in jail, and so on. A very interesting look at a major case.

These are just a few, I’ll probably do a post later, once I’ve seen more great once. Definitely check these ones out for now though! x

Leave a comment